sept 2011 stuff 036To think that some are predicting the bottom could fall out from under us… life as we know it might totally change. I did not live in the Great Depression, but I am old enough to have lived with people in my life who did.

The people I  have known, they were affected by doing without. Things did not get wasted. Heck when my mom would cook spaghetti sauce—every leftover in the fridge ended up in the sauce. She would buy a gallon milk, dilute it with a gallon of water and a gallon of powder milk mixed up…

There was one woman I knew for many years..she kept EVERYTHING!. I think if anyone had chicken wings, she would have been there collecting the bones to save for a broth. If you bought something on a stack cardboard card- the item covered with a firm plastic protection piece..she would save the plastic for a possible terrarium. She washed paper plates, washed and folded foil, she used the wrappers for margarine to oil a baking sheet.

Another person I knew would save every ribbon and gift wrap from packages, trim off ends and use it again. She literally irons gift wrap to use again.

I think both of these people could make rock soup taste edible.

I was thinking about them as an ad flashed up on my screen about 2012 being the end of life as we know it. That is scary… because if it was true..than why save money if it is going to all be worth nothing….BUT it takes so damn long to save money..that I would hate to spend it all to find out—we got our crap together and things were getting better…

I look at our kitchen..100_0313it is nothing special to most people..to us ..we like it. If the money in the world becomes worth nothing..than we would have to down size..but to down size would be to get rid of practically everything we own.

Than I think ..would we want to get rid of things we own..for if money is worth nothing..the things we have would be something at least. They are pd for…

So our goals should be to pay off all debt..and if things go south..at least we would have something to use..so survive with. I heard someone say at a store they save NOTHING> no pictures, no nothing…. I think about me.and I find such joy knowing I can pick up an album and see my mom, my dad, my sister all who have  passed on to their eternal life, I can smile at a picture of my child when he was a baby… smile at Marks and my kids when they met that first time at the Roch Zoo…. photos bring me back to times in the cubby holes of my mind… they bring to the surface times that made me who I am…

Oh I really hope the doom predictors are over stating the future..and that people become more aware of the waste…. and that life continues to be ok for us, and our kids and our kids kids. I do not think I wish to save every piece of foil that was used already… but I do hope we can all think before we just toss. Peace to all. Love Mrs Justa alias Cindy 

