Unemployment… man that totally sucks ! I read the other day that “The number of unemployed persons, at 14.0 million, was essentially unchanged in September, and the unemployment rate was 9.1 percent. Since April, the rate has held in a narrow range from 9.0 to 9.2 percent” Think about that 14 million people. “

Have you ever been there, are you there now, or do you feel you might be there in the future?

Dang, I remember feeling like this guy in this free clip art image. It represents exactly how I felt too.

I had been in photo finishing for 7 years. 7 years of learning everything there was about mail order and retail processing of people films.

This was back before digital camera were even thought about. Where people would load film in their camera , take their photos, and than take the film out..and have to send it in or bring it to a retail store front and wait to see if their pictures came out. I LOVED that job. I worked from 7 AM till about 5 PM 5 days a week. We would start the day opening mail, ringing in the money, processing the film, cutting the photos and packaging the pictures to return back to the people. And I was good at it, I truly had a passion for it. When that placed closed, and I was left unemployed, I had no where to go. It was not a field that many others had openings in, and it was all I knew, and in my own self destructive way I convinced myself it was all I would ever do. So I went to the NYS employment office to look for jobs in my field, and left in despair over the fact there was nothing I was qualified for. But ya know what… I fought back the feeling of worthlessness and I kept looking.

Eventually I was employed again, I had to relocate to another city, but I got into photo finishing, and throughout the years I had different jobs- all in photo processing of some sort. In between I got married, was a stay at home wife, than a stay at home mom and for the first 2 1/2 years of being a mom, life was just being the wife and mom.  Than the “S” word…. “I want a separation..” was said to me…and once again…. I needed to find a job in photo finishing. Again I was this guy on the bench. Except now I had been out of the work force for 5 years!. I landed a photo job, I became a single mom, and through risky choices, I ended up going to nursing school, thinking this profession is a sure bet.

But ya know what… even nursing has risks of being hard to find the job you can fit into. I absolutely love what I am doing, but I think about people who work with me, and I look at myself, and every day I say a prayer of thanks that I have a place to go to. I wonder about those people who are 50 +, looking for a job in nursing, how scary that must be!. What about the moms who are nurses, who chose to stay home till the kids were grown, and now need work. To adjust from writing notes to now electronic records, to adjust to computers, to  the more advanced needle systems, IV systems, dispensing of meds… the list goes on and on… how lost they must feel.

With the number of people looking, how hard it is to stay psyched and proud to know it is YOU they want.

Yes, I am so very thankful I have a job. And for those who do not, DO NOT GIVE UP. I know it is easier said than done, but never ever stop believing in yourself, never shoot down your sense of self worth, and even if you have to do a couple part time or a temporary agency, do not let Satan overcome your mind. You can do it!. Sometimes the library has self help or learning courses, check the job banks, , keep your sights low- not looking for that perfect job—a specialized one that just will not often come up, maybe check out training in the area, just do not give up. Heck, I have even thought about advertising to walk peoples dogs, if I ever got in a situation of not having my job. Cleaning houses, being a “sick child” sitter. We can all do whatever we set our minds to do… good luck to those looking, go for anything and keep looking if it is not the right fit for you …it is better to do something as you look, than to be out there feeling totally shot down by life. Somehow, all along the way, I found joy in every job I have had… we need to do that… even if the boss is a royal jerk…. make yourself find goodness is something each day.

Love to all, Mrs Justa… alias… Cindy 

