Reflecting –sunset fulton ny that is what today is about to me. Today was my birthday, and it is funny how birthdays change in meaning the more I go through them . I remember as a young kid looking forward to my birthday- for no one reason except it was a day it made me feel really special. My parents were very loving parents, and they would never over extend on gifts. First they did not have much money, but secondly my parents were not materialistic type people. Oh sure there would be a cake, candles and ice cream ( only on birthdays did we get cake and ice cream on the same day!!) – and family would sing to me around the table, I would have a moment to make a wish and blow out the candles, and my siblings would always ask what the wish was. There would be gifts, but it was being around family that mattered.

We did not do huge birthday parties- it was a day that was just a time where I felt like it was MY day. I think maybe because on our birthdays the attention was more on us. Other days- there were all 6 kids in a constant rebounding of where the attention went- and often that depended on who was doing something wrong.

Today- many years Caleb, Mackenzie, Rochester, Sept 30 2011 045after those childhood days, was a nice day. Birthdays are now so different, but not in a bad way. We each have basically anything we need, we are not extravagant people, and if something breaks we try to replace it when it happens. So Mark and I have started to just enjoy the day of the birthday, not try to figure what gift to buy, instead we go to a dinner somewhere and wish each other happy birthday- on our special day. It just so happened for me, I was home today, so I looked forward to getting up and shampooing the carpets. I LOVE how it feels when they are done.

Unfortunately my idea of a time for getting up and Indi’s idea of the time to get up were slightly off. As he had a grand mal seizure at 3:15 this morning and was pretty insecure  after his seizure, he had to go out, than whimpered for hours, just wanting to be right next to us . So I had laundry going before 6AM this morning and carpets are all done. Mark and I got to spend the day together. We did bran-muffin-closeup[1]a Walmart run.. as I was frantically looking for a bran muffin mix—all I wanted was to make fresh bran muffins. Alas—after going to 4 stores- I settled for an already made one from the bakery. ( HA… growing up I looked forward to cake,((loved the double layer ones…chocolate…ummmmm)  lots of frosting and ice cream!!..and at 58 I am looking forward to bran muffins!!) 

So as the day ends, I am thinking about what a nice day it was, we went to Outback for dinner, and Indi has not had any more seizures… so life is okay for right now… Love to all… I am off to relax a bit before going to bed. Mrs Justa.. alias Cindy

