100_2454 “Love does not consist of gazing at each other, but in looking together in the same direction.  ~Antoine de Saint-Exupery”  14 years ago , on the tenth of August, Mark and I were married. Yep it was a Saturday evening at the Fireside Inn in Baldwinsville, NY. It was a pleasant evening, we had a justice of the peace marry us, Jeff was our Best Man and my sister Melanie our Maid of Honor. They were our witnesses. We had about 36 people there, friends and family. And a few not there, whom I wish could have been.

We had a Rose Ceremony- it was neat, and basically we did a rose exchange and the jest of it was if ever we did something that bothered the other, or caused one to feel angry.. than we needed to make sure we gave them a rose. It was a quaint night, a lovely evening, people were all encouraged to relax and just have a nice time.

Well one Mother’s Day, Jeff and Mark went out and bought 3 huge rose bushes, and said it was for times before and times that had not yet happened.

Now, actually Mr Mark and I have been together for 25 1/2 years already As I look at the incredible realization that I am 56 yrs old and for 25 of the years of my life, Mark and I have shared quite a journey, I find it truly amazing, the road has not always been easy… but we have survived many challenges.

Second marriages are not easy, accepting each others children is not easy on the kids at times.I think we both succeeded in loving the others child. 

There is a song I hear every once in a while that literally brings tears to my eyes, Brad Paisley sings it, “Half the Man He Didn’t Have To Be” – it kinda chokes me up… because step parents really care about the kids too… even if they are not their own, and this song has some lyrics that just tells it all. >>>>” Clint Black wrote this…

“I met the man I call my dad when I was five years old
He took my mom out to a movie and for once I got to go
A few months later I remember lying there in bed
I overheard him pop the question and I prayed that she’d say yes
And then all of a sudden
Oh, it seemed so strange to me
How we went from something’s missing
To a family
Lookin’ back all I can say
About all the things he did for me
Is I hope I’m at least half the dad
That he didn’t have to be 
I met the girl that’s now my wife about three years ago
We had the perfect marriage but we wanted somethin’ more
Now here I stand surrounded by our family and friends
Crowded ’round the nursery window as they bring the baby in
And now all of a sudden
It seemed so strange to me
How we’ve gone from something’s missing
To a family
Lookin’ through the glass I think about the man
That’s standin’ next to me
And I hope I’m at least half the dad
That he didn’t have to be
Lookin’ back all I can say
About all the things he did for me
Is I hope I’m at least half the dad
That he didn’t have to be
Yeah, I hope I’m at least half the dad
That he didn’t have to be
Because he didn’t have to be
You know he didn’t have to be”

So I say Happy Anniversary Mark… and thanks for all you have done, all you have been and all you will be.. Love to all Mrs Justa.. Alias. CIndy

