100_4754

As we get older there becomes a place in our minds that is like a bank vault full of memories. And it seems like the memories will outweigh the ones yet to come.

There are so many times in life when things are just side splitting funny, and other times when things a frightening. But each time creates a memory. Whether we remember the memory is another thing, but it is there. And without even realizing it, it can pop out like it was yesterday that it happened. it is like a bright light pops on and shines thru the branches of life to remind you of a time gone by.

Today for some strange reason , as I was driving home, I found myself back in 10th grade. Winter break …. We had about 8 of us, guys and gals who just had fun together. Platonic fun. We wanted nothing but friendship from each of us, and it was good that way, because there was none of the pressure of couples.

We all decided to go bowling. The bowling alley was about 3 miles from our houses, but that was okay, we walked down to it. I remember Sparky, he ran the bowling center. Here we were , a winter afternoon, the 8 of us . There was some sort of special if we did the bowling for 3 games and renting shoes on afternoons. I remember I wore these stretch pants, they had these loops that went under the foot, kinda like these here.

Well stretch pants like these and me… lets just say it is not the best pair in the world. I was always pulling at the waist because my legs were longer than the pant leg and stir-rup hooky thing was designed for. Plus I always had what my mom referred to as thick thighs… ( later in life others referred to them as thunder thighs)

So here I am – the bowling alley had maybe 50 lanes, and we get lane 1 and 2. Sparky and his desk are at lane 30 area. We were laughing, and me.. … I was the jokester. Cracking jokes, being witty and trying to feel special I guess thru humor.

It was my turn, so I went up and over exaggerated my step and my throw and accidently stepped over the line into the lane. I was unaware until that time that when you cross that line you become air bound due to oil on the lane. Somehow the ball left my hands as I went up in flight, and me and my stirrup pants crashed to the lane, I did not bounce, and my pants did not stretch… are you getting the picture here? The stirrups held tight… so something had to give… the seam from the back to 1/3 of the way up the front blew apart. I had a tunic top on thankfully, because it covered my exposed butt. I sat there in the lane, legs spread and watched the ball make a strike !! I laughed hysterically and somehow jumped up, telling the gang I was getting a drink… I ran down to Sparky , shared my dilemma with him and he frantically gave me every little gold safety pin in his drawer, than I went in the bathroom and pinned this whole seam quickly… soda in hand… .I returned to be in time for my turn again… but it was very hard not to have any of those babies pop open while bowling and for the long walk home…

That is the last time I have worn Stirrup pants.. by the way…

It is funnier now that I am 40 years away from the event. And I wonder if any one of the people I was with.. if they knew what happened. I thought I had fooled them al… but now I wonder.

There was a lot of me showing when the stretch material decided to give way… 

The things we do .. the memories we have… and I am not sure what the heck made that bright light shine on this memory.. But it did make me laugh.. really hard…

Love to all, Mrs Justa… and the memories locked in my head…

