Numbers numbers everywhere. And they mean something different in different situations. Sometimes they make no real sense.

Such as in the hospital, the nurse comes in and asks you to rate your pain. Now if you are at some hospitals it is a scale of 1-5 and others a scale of 1-10. So if your pain really is BADDDDD you need to make sure you know if 5 means it is the worse pain you ever felt and not meaning it is medium.

Or doing a self performance review at work, you have to rate yourself from 0-5. Now if you go to a 3- you are stating you are fulfilling your job description, a 3.5- you are giving more than what is expected, a 4- that is commendable and a 5 means basically you walk on water.

It is hard to rate myself.

Now let’s say you are at McDonalds Drive thru and you want a cup of coffee. You can’t say extra cream or extra sugar anymore, nope you have to give them a number.  Now no one will give any hints as to what each number means or what it is equal to. One morning I asked the voice in the drive thru box.. what numbers mean regular cream and sugar?… she said I can not tell you. So than I asked ..well what is a normal persons order?… she could not tell me… ( crap I felt like pulling her teeth would have been easier) so than I asked, how high do the numbers go?… her answer- as much as you want it is up to you. Man I was ready to call Obama and see if he could help me out here, ( since he helps everyone ) and I also had a clearer picture why some folks have called 911 because their order was messed up…( I am not saying though to call 911… you get in big time trouble if you do !)  It was like a Super Secret… and she was taking her oath pretty seriously…  I had no idea is “1” was equal to 1 teaspoon.. so I just said 4 and 4. Needless to say, I have not returned. Usually I bring coffee from home, and this convinced me that is the smartest thing to do.

Our whole life is revolving around numbers, how much we weigh, how much groceries cost, how much we earn, how much we spend, how many calories we eat, how long we exercise, how strong the medication you take, how fast you can drive… … numbers numbers.. thank God I was good in math.  The times we have to use numbers is infinite… as I look at the clock… it is 8:34, I have 2 loads of wash to do, and 2 prescriptions to order on line, and 1 hr before I probably go to bed because I have to get up at 6:45 in the morning… ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh Have a good night… I hope you can just go to sleep and not count sheep LOL.. Mrs. Justa.. alias Cindy

Technorati Tags: ,,,
