As I drove thru the city today to run an errand at lunch time,I had taken some turns that drove me to areas in the city that must feel like safe or warm places to be. I ran across an area of sidewalk grates with steam coming through them and people nestled around them . I saw some people curled on benches- like this gentleman in this photo I got off of Google images. I wondered what his life’s history was. What did he do, where is he from. As I was going on my journey there was a song on the country radio about a man who was giving up on life and decided to commit suicide by jumping off the bridge….but a homeless man saved him….

the song was written by

(Annie Tate/Sam Tate/Dave Berg)

titled “Moments” by Emerson Drive… the lyrics go

I was coming to the end of a long long walk
When a man crawled out of a cardboard box
Under the E. Street Bridge
Followed me on to it
I went out halfway across
With that homeless shadow tagging along
So I dug for some change
Wouldn’t need it anyway
He took it lookin’ just a bit ashamed
He said, You know, I haven’t always been this way
I’ve had my moments, days in the sun
Moments I was second to none
Moments when I knew I did what I thought I couldn’t do
Like that plane ride coming home from the war
That summer my son was born
And memories like a coat so warm
A cold wind can’t get through
Lookin’ at me now you might not know it
But I’ve had my moments


I stood there tryin’ to find my nerve
Wondering if a single soul on Earth
Would care at all
Miss me when I’m gone
That old man just kept hanging around
Lookin’ at me, lookin’ down
I think he recognized
That look in my eyes
Standing with him there I felt ashamed
I said, You know, I haven’t always been this way

I’ve had my moments, days in the sun
Moments I was second to none
Moments when I knew I did what I thought I couldn’t do
Like the day I walked away from the wine
For a woman who became my wife
And a love that, when it was right,
Could always see me through
Lookin’ at me now you might not know it
But I’ve had my moments

I know somewhere ’round a trash can fire tonight
That old man tells his story one more time
He says

I’ve had my moments, days in the sun
Moments I was second to none
Moments when I knew I did what I thought I couldn’t do
Like that cool night on the E. Street Bridge
When a young man almost ended it
I was right there, wasn’t scared a bit
And I helped to pull him through
Lookin’ at me now you might not know it
Oh, lookin’ at me now you might not know it
But I’ve had my moments
I’ve had my moments…………. “

And as I  listened to this song and observed these folks who are living without , and it hit me that it could be many of us… none of us are guaranteed heat, shelter, electricity, a bed… we all could be in the same boat. We have all had our moments, were we were second to none. Maybe some are in the middle of our moments…

It humbled me…. I came home and the furnace has quit working. The repair man came tonight – and left- saying the board is bad and he has to see if there is one anywhere in the city tomorrow.  I am feeling a bit disenchanted because it is only a year old… and I am feeling concerned about the cold night tonight…. thankful it happened now and not in the depth of winter winds howling.. thinking about grabbing an extra comforter from the  closet, turning  the electric mattress pad up an extra number or two to keep warm, about grabbing my shower tonight to avoid the drop in temperature over night… but then I feel almost ashamed of my thoughts as I remember what I saw today- and think about these people in their cardboard boxes, or laying on a metal sidewalk grid, or sleeping on the park bench, and just the clothes on their backs. I have it pretty good… I am blessed… we all are in special ways.  I pray for the people without, and I thank God for all I have. And ya know what… I bet many of them pray each night to with thanks for what they have.. for finding that grate or for that park bench that was vacant… . Peace to all, Mrs justa.. Cindy.

 

