Today I saw a few things that brought to mind my favorite book of all time “The Prophet” by Kahlil Gibran.

He writes about all aspects of life and the one that came to me today was on giving.

brandon, fami;y, 2008, 2009 098

Some of what he said in this book is as follows.

“You give but little when you give of your possessions.
It is when you give of yourself that you truly give.
For what are your possessions but things you keep and guard for fear you may need them tomorrow?………………………………….

There are those who give little of the much which they have–and they give it for recognition and their hidden desire makes their gifts unwholesome.
And there are those who have little and give it all.
These are the believers in life and the bounty of life, and their coffer is never empty.
There are those who give with joy, and that joy is their reward.
And there are those who give with pain, and that pain is their baptism.
And there are those who give and know not pain in giving, nor do they seek joy, nor give with mindfulness of virtue;
They give as in yonder valley the myrtle breathes its fragrance into space.
Through the hands of such as these God speaks, and from behind their eyes He smiles upon the earth.
It is well to give when asked, but it is better to give unasked, through understanding;………………………..”

I was driving thru a parking lot close to work this morning, and there was a person , a lady, it was hard to tell her age, she had torn gloves on her hands, fingers popping thru the ends, she had many torn and tethered plastic grocery bags,they appeared to be overflowing with stuff, maybe things she had found on her journey thru life,  and this woman was feeding some seagulls with bread or rolls she had. Her shoes were well worn, and she pushed a flimsy little cart  with wobbly wheels that held her bags, she had a scarf on that appeared to need laundering… along with the clothes on her back, her hair looked wind blown and snarled, and  her smile was dim, yet there was a twinkle in her eyes as she became surrounded by birds, flocking about, almost calling her name. I pulled over for a bit and just watched as this woman with apparently little, gave so much. And she truly appeared to have joy in watching the gulls received her morsels.

As I left to get to work on time, she made me feel blessed to have witnessed this act of giving. She was close to a McDonalds and I wondered if the rolls may have come from their garbage. AS I sit here tonight, thinking about the dinner cooking in the over, I am reminded of her. I wonder where she is tonight? She seemed at peace with life, it was a neat experience.

The later today I was walking along the 2nd floor at work and looked down on the street. 100_2703There was this cute little kid with some dandelions held tight in his little fingers, he was holding his arm close to his body, behind his back, and as the Centro Bus was stopping to pick up this little boy and his mother, he stepped onto the bus reaching out to give the driver his treasure. I could not see the drivers reaction, but I could see the joy this little tike got from giving these flowers to this driver.  

What a special blessing today was for me, I felt  like angels  came down and presented themselves right in front of me twice. Have a good night. Love, Cindy

