What a difference a year makes.

Last year I was 54. I had injured my L hip about a week prior trying to yank our windmill out of the ground to put it away for the winter. Ended up with pretty significant bursitis. I was having a terrible time walking, getting in and out of bed, and trying to be a good sport about it.

Then came the week of my birthday.

We had had a terrible few days prior my birthday. One the 17th at 10:05 PM Mark was holding our little Cairn Terrier and was trying to get a stuffed mouse away from him. The dog turned and showed his teeth and ripped part of Mark’s nose off. 100_0631 We called Jeff and he and Amanda came over, it was not good. So we had an ambulance ride to the ER.

Mark was still unable to walk very well,

he was in a lot of pain anyway from from his leg, and now this. Fortunately the resident in the ER that night was specializing in ENT and plastic surgery, and it took a long time, but he attached the nose and we went home.

We called the vet the next morning,

and the vet felt that this was writing on the wall, and recommended we put the dog to sleep. What if this had been a toddler grabbing the toy mouse , what would have happened then.So the day before my birthday we had to put our dog down.

My son , his wife, my brother and his wife thought that maybe they could help us take our minds off the tragedy, and Jeff came over and had decorated the house when I was away, Tom and Sher, and Jeff and Amanda came over for my birthday.

They did make it better for us,

and I am glad to say this year has been less dramatic. Tomorrow I turn 55. My brother Tom and his wife wanted to do breakfast, and came and joined Sean and Pat and Mark and I this morning. It was a very nice time. And as I look back and forward in life, I realize that more of my life has passed, then is in front of me. It is weird to think of not being here some day. For all I know is that I have always been. I am melancholic right now, remembering those who have already passed on, grateful for those in my life, and curious of what life will bring going forward.

I have regrets,

but they are worthless to focus on, I have joys, they are worth treasuring. I am lucky really. We are not wealthy, we are not spoiled. We are pretty frugal most of the time, and we have not had the opportunity to save as much as the financial wizards say we should have, but I can not help that. Life has been here, and not handed on a silver platter. Life is life. I wonder what this next year will bring? Love to all, Mrs Justa.

